Frequently Asked Questions
Have a question? Below you will find all the questions and answers you need about BSafe Driving Academy and the programs we offer. If your question isn’t answered here, please call (805) 493-8333 or email us
and we will be sure it is!
View: Teen FAQs | Adult FAQs
Q: How old does my teen have to be to start driver education?
A. They can take the online course at any age, but must be at least 15 ½ to take the behind-the-wheel training.
Q: When can my teen get their permit from the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)? A.
You must be at least 15 ½.
Q: Can they get their permit at a driving school instead of the DMV? A.
No. You must go to the DMV.
Q: How long do they have to use the learner’s permit before getting their drivers license? A.
They can get their driver license when they turn 16 years old and have had their permit for at least six months. They must also have completed all 50 hours of practice with an adult. At least 10 of the 50 hours must have been done at night.
Q: Is driver education training required if my teen is under 18 years old? A.
Yes, they must complete 25 hours of classroom instruction and at least 6 hours of driver training.
Q: Does BSafe offer advanced driving skills packages that comply with the 50 hours? A.
Yes. BSafe offers a 50 hour V.I.P package that meets the State of California requirements. Please contact our office to inquire on pricing and further details.
Q: Can my teen take online drivers ed and do the in-car at BSafe? A.
Q: How do I schedule behind-the-wheel drives? A.
Our convenient online scheduling login makes it easy! A username and password to this online tool will arrive in your welcome email. Use this username and password to login by clicking on the link in the email or go to our website and click on “login” or “Student/Parent Login” and choose your drive times.
Q: What if I want to be picked up for my behind-the-wheel drives somewhere other than my home, high school, or driving school address? A.
We understand that our students have busy schedules and sometimes the behind-the-wheel pickup location may vary so if you would like to be picked up somewhere other than your home (address on enrollment), high school, or our driving school, please contact our office staff to schedule the lesson and we would be happy to assist you (leaving a voicemail will not be sufficient). We can accommodate most cases, but if it is out of our coverage our staff will let you know.
Q: Why does my teen need an extra lesson? A.
Six hours behind-the-wheel driving is the absolute minimum required by the State and many students require more time than this to build their skills and confidence since not all students progress at the same rate. Driving is one of the most important things that we will learn in our lifetime and parents often pay thousands of dollars to teach their teen to throw a football or learn how to play the piano, but learning how to drive a car safely can actually save their life!
Q: What if something unexpected comes up within 48 hours of a scheduled drive time and my teen absolutely cannot show up for their driving lesson? (Note: you can always cancel with no penalty outside of the 48 hour deadline) A.
We are sorry, but you must cancel at least 48 hours in advance or pay a $40 late cancellation fee. If the student is a no-show you must pay a $60 fee. There are no exceptions. BSafe Driving Academy applies these fees to cover the costs associated with your missed lesson.
Q: How much is the late cancellation and no-show fee? A.
$40 per lesson-late cancellation and $60 per lesson-no-show.
Q: How and when do we pay the late cancellation or no-show fee? A.
You must pay the fee prior to scheduling any additional lessons. You can pay on our convenient online system by debit/credit card, mail a check/money order, or come and pay in person or by phone.
Q: What is the refund policy? A.
Any student who pays in advance and requests a refund, will receive a refund for those lessons not yet taken (or scheduled within the next 48 hours) less a $50.00 administrative processing fee. This refund will be based on the normal hourly rate, and not on any discounted or coupon rate. To receive the refund all the no show fees or late cancellation fees must be paid. Refunds are issued within 7-10 business days from the date of approved refund. If the account has no activity (scheduled driving or classes) for a period in excess of 6 months then a $50.00 reactivation fee will be charged prior to scheduling drive lessons, training, or classes. Every effort will be taken to insure all instruction will be offered during this time limit. The fact the person does not obtain a driver’s license during this time is not the responsibility of BSafe Driving Academy and will not be cause for extension.
Q: Can we take just the classroom portion of your course? A.
Q: Are there other languages to take instructions in? A.
Yes! BSafe Driving Academy offers instruction languages in English, Russian, and Hebrew!